from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • proper n. A country in Oceania, to the east of Australia. Official name: New Zealand. Abbreviation: NZ or Aotearoa
  • proper n. The islands of New Zealand, especially the North Island, South Island and nearby coastal islands.
  • proper n. The Realm of New Zealand, including the Cook Islands, Niue, Tokelau and the Ross Dependency.

from the GNU version of the Collaborative International Dictionary of English

  • A group of islands in the South Pacific Ocean.

from WordNet 3.0 Copyright 2006 by Princeton University. All rights reserved.

  • n. North Island and South Island and adjacent small islands in the South Pacific
  • n. an independent country within the British Commonwealth; achieved independence from the United Kingdom in 1907; known for sheep and spectacular scenery


From Dutch Nieuw-Zeeland, "new Zeeland", after the Dutch settlement in Batavia, which in turn had been named after the Dutch province of Zeeland. (Wiktionary)


Sorry, no example sentences found.


Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.