from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 5th Edition.

  • The eastern group of the Marshall Islands in the western Pacific Ocean. The chain comprises 2 coral islands and 14 atolls, including Majuro.


Sorry, no etymologies found.


Help support Wordnik (and make this page ad-free) by adopting the word Ratak Chain.


  • The Marshalls extend over a 700-mi (1,130-km) area and comprise two major groups: the Ratak Chain in the east, and the Ralik Chain in the west, with a total of 34 atolls, c. 900 reefs, and a land area of 70 sq mi (181 sq km).

    Marshall Islands

  • Ratak Chain (island Marshall Islands 9 00 N 171 00 E group)

    The 2007 CIA World Factbook


Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.