from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 4th Edition

  • An island country of the West Indies in the Windward Islands south of Martinique. The island was probably sighted by Columbus in 1502. Resistance from the Carib inhabitants defeated several attempts at colonization by the English in the early 17th century, although France succeeded in establishing a settlement in the mid-1600s. The island changed hands several times between the two powers until the end of the Napoleonic Wars (1814), when it passed definitively to Great Britain. St. Lucia joined the West Indies Federation (1958-1962), gaining self-government in 1967 and full independence in 1979. Castries is the capital. Population: 171,000.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • proper n. A country in the Caribbean. Official name: Saint Lucia.

from WordNet 3.0 Copyright 2006 by Princeton University. All rights reserved.

  • n. a country on the island of Saint Lucia; gained independence from Great Britain in 1979
  • n. a volcanic island in the Windward Isles to the south of Martinique


from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

Latin sancta ("saint") Lucia ("Lucy") (landed on by French sailors on St. Lucy's Day, 13 December 1502)


    Sorry, no example sentences found.


Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.