from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 4th Edition

  • A country of west-central Africa on the Atlantic Ocean. Previously inhabited by Pygmy and then Bantu-speaking peoples, the region was visited by the Portuguese in 1472 and settled by the French in 1841. It became part of French Equatorial Africa in 1910 and achieved independence in 1960. Libreville is the capital and the largest city. Population: 1,450,000.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • proper n. Country in Western Africa. Official name: Gabonese Republic.

from WordNet 3.0 Copyright 2006 by Princeton University. All rights reserved.

  • n. a republic on the west coast of Africa


From Portuguese gabão ("cloak"), referring to the Komo estuary. (Wiktionary)



Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.