Definitions

from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 4th Edition

  • n. A composer of fables.
  • n. A teller of tales; a liar.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • n. one who writes or tells fables
  • n. a liar

from the GNU version of the Collaborative International Dictionary of English

  • n. One who invents or writes fables.

from The Century Dictionary and Cyclopedia

  • n. An inventor or a writer of fables; a fabler; a maker of fictions.

from WordNet 3.0 Copyright 2006 by Princeton University. All rights reserved.

  • n. a person who tells or invents fables

Etymologies

French fabuliste, from Latin fābula, fable; see fable.
(American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition)

Examples

  • But because it’s Aleksandar Hemon, the stories extend far beyond the immigrant experience; each one is punctuated with unexpected humor and spins out in fabulist, exhilarating directions, ultimately building to an insightful, often heartbreaking conclusion.

    Love and Obstacles by Aleksandar Hemon: Book summary

  • Fontaine will feel that Gay the fabulist is a writer whose work the world has let die very willingly indeed.

    Views and Reviews Essays in appreciation

  • I tend to read very unusual fiction - horror, dark fantasy, slipstream and "fabulist" or "New Weird", and anything that touches on gender, race and sexual issues.

    INTO THIS MIND -- Opening Chapters

  • He is new to the mystery field, but he has published numerous stories he terms "fabulist" that range from speculative fiction to fantasy to quiet atmospheric horror.

    Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine

  • It is not, to use a rather nebulous term, the "best" book about wine I've read -- that distinction rests with Neal Rosenthal's Reflections of a Wine Merchant -- but it reads like fabulous and fabulist fiction, and that's a real credit to the author, considering it's not fiction at all.

    LENNDEVOURS:

  • A shy manifesto, an impractical handbook, the true story of a fabulist, an entire life in parts and pieces, Manhood for Amateurs is the first sustained work of personal writing from Michael Chabon.

    Manhood for Amateurs: Summary and book reviews of Manhood for Amateurs by Michael Chabon.

  • "The Children's Hospital, a sprawling and impassioned morality tale in which a catastrophe of biblical scale wipes out nearly all life, human and otherwise, on Earth… despite its weaknesses, The Children's Hospital establishes Chris Adrian as a remarkable American fabulist in the tradition of Melvin Jules Bukiet and Tony Kushner, writers who define and confront the terrifying moral choices of a new century."

    The Children's Hospital by Chris Adrian: Book summary

  • With an eye ever open for the absurdity of her vocation, Mr. Gottlieb steers us through a thicket of fictions and half-truths about Sarah, many of them perpetrated by the "relentless fabulist" herself.

    Actress, Seductress

  • Herzog is at once a romantic and a sceptic, a fabulist and a harsh observer.

    Werner Herzog, a movie-making genius of performance art

  • The operation of the book puts Moore squarely in the midst of place-obsessed, history-haunted writers such as the novelist and biographer Peter Ackroyd, the veteran fabulist Michael Moorcock, and the “psycho-geographer” Iain Sinclair: what might be defined as the contrary tendency in present-day English letters to the Amis/Hitchens/McEwan rationalist headlock.

    The Sorcery of Alan Moore

Comments

Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.